August 2020 - Product release overview

Automation when POSTing Transactions

With the updated POST templates to include edit capabilities for both Xero and QuickBooks Online, some users could no longer build automation models on the POST template since some columns where overwritten by DataDear.

The product team has managed to find a simple solution to address this problem. Users have now the option to choose between Edit and non Edit mode. For advanced users having models in the workbook, there is a new dedicated button which does not overwrite the cells in the workbook.

New process:


Yes (without Edit) - is an advanced feature recommended when automating the sheet with formulas. In this mode, Column A and the Edit ID columns will not be overwritten. New transactions will be created if the same data is posted again.

This new POSTing behaviour applies to:

  • Xero Invoices and Bills
  • Xero Timesheets (UK and AU)
  • Xero Manual Journals
  • Xero Bank Transactions
  • Xero Purchase Orders
  • Xero Making Tax Digital
  • QuickBooks Invoices and Bills
  • QuickBooks Journal Entries
  • QuickBooks Purchase Orders

Improvements - VAT Report for Malta

Several enhancements to this module was carried out to improve the process of the VAT generation. The report also handles multi-currency which are converted by default to EUR. To get access to this module, contact the support team within the form or via email.

VAT Return Mapping:




Other Improvements

  • QuickBooks - Profit & Loss Multiple Period report - Including the budget option in the report.

  • Xero - Credit Notes / Invoices data table - The lines have been removed from this report since there is a separate table to bring the credit notes and invoices lines.

  • Xero - New Zealand Payroll - There was a problem with the integration with the New Zealand payroll.

  • Various bug fixes and performance improvements.




The upgrade will start on the 12th August 7.00am UTC (18.00 AEDT / 20.00 NZDT / 09.00 CEST / 9.00 SAST / 00.00 PDT) and will take no more than 1 hour during which DataDear will be unavailable. The add-in will update automatically once you open Excel after the release is completed.

1 Like

Seems to have completely broken the “Trial Balance - Multiple Year” report?

Hi @DrAccountant

There are a few users who are experiencing a problem with the Trial Balance and a fix is already available - report will be working again shortly.

Thanks - looks to be working now

1 Like