February 2020 DataDear release

As anticipated, this is the biggest DataDear release for 2020 :astonished: which mainly focuses on adding more POST and Edit functionalities to the Templates Library.



QuickBooks - New Templates

image

The following new templates have been launched and can be downloaded from the Templates Library- these templates allow you to upload/post, edit and void in bulk:

  • Customers and Vendors
  • Classes and Departments
  • Chart of Accounts
  • Items


Xero - Improved Templates

image

As part of the process to ensure all templates are consistent, these Xero templates have not been upgraded to allow for editing and voiding transactions:

  • Chart of Accounts
  • Item


Xero - Three Statement Template

image

This template is provided by a DataDear Expert and the model pulls the Profit and Loss and the Trial Balance actuals data from Xero, and allows for the addition of Profit and Loss forecast figures.


Data Copy - Improvements

Some users experienced problems to generate the Data Copy for specific organisations due to the volume of files that were saved on Xero. This has led to a number of improvements to allow the user to select a date range for the data copy. Example doing a yearly copy of the data would be faster and can be grouped in smaller chunks of data. This functionality remains in beta and free tokens can be requested to the support team.



HMRC - MTD VAT submission

Several improvements including:

  • Allowing agents to file reports on behalf of their clients in an easier way. Agents will need to reconnect with DataDear.
  • More meaningful error messages
  • Better documentation to address specific user problems


Other Improvements

  • Account Transactions - Source Links on the first 66,000 lines have been readded - Excel limits the number of links in a file so a maximum of 66,000 lines will have a link.

  • Various bug fixes and performance updates.




The upgrade will start on the 12th February at 7.30am UTC (18.30 AEDT / 20.30 NZDT / 08.30 CET / 9.30 SAST / 23.30 PST) and will take no more than 60 minutes during which DataDear will be unavailable. The add-in will update automatically once you open Excel after the release is completed.