June 2020 - Product release overview

Secure Login using Intuit and Xero

Both the account owners and invited users can now use Intuit and Xero’s single sign-on process to login into DataDear. Now creating an account and login to DataDear is now faster, easier and more secure.

image

Connecting your existing DataDear profile to Xero or Intuit’s login is very easy and can be done during the login process or by heading to the My Profile page in the Dashboard.




Welcome to DataDear

If you are new to DataDear or you consider yourself as a ‘basic’ user, we recommend you have a look at the new DataDear Welcome Tour which has been uploaded on the Templates Library. The wizard guides you through the initial process of getting started with DataDear and provides an overview of the main functionality offered by DataDear.




Sepa Payments

If you handle Sepa payments, this release will better help you create and manage Invoices to be paid and to generate the necessary xml (via a third party software) to submit to your bank. A new report configuration has been added to the already available Sepa Report.



Xero & QuickBooks Online Post Templates

Significant speed improvements in posting and editing templates in bulk. This will allow you to save more time when creating and editing transactions in bulk for Xero and QuickBooks Online templates. We know you'll like this one!




Xero New API

Xero recently moved to a new / improved way of communicating with apps - OAuth2. DataDear has been working on this project for some time but we wanted to make sure systems will function properly before we move to the new api. As part of this cycle, an exercise has been carried out to ensure that links and filters for all Xero data tables is improved. All these changes are now ready to be shipped with this release.

Your connected companies will be automatically upgraded to the new system but you might still be required to re-authenticate to Xero. The process is similar with new screens from Xero which make the process easier to follow.




Xero - Profit & Loss Multiple Period reports

The **period as rows** parameter in this report is a very popular feature with reporting and it has now been improved to allow users to run the report without Tracking Categories when the number of tracking options is quite high. This is a limitation of the third-party api which may fail before all the data is provided.

DataDear on Office 365 (now Microsoft 365)

We are very excited :tada: to announce DataDear for Office 365 and Excel Online.

DataDear has been working on this new project for some time and this has now been listed on the Microsoft AppSource - it’s awaiting to be reviewed and approved. Stay tuned for a first preview!



Other Improvements

  • Data Tables - “Process has finished” message will show once the process to download the data table has been completed.

  • Various bug fixes and performance improvements.




The upgrade will start on the 16th June 7.00am UTC (18.00 AEDT / 20.00 NZDT / 09.00 CEST / 9.00 SAST / 00.00 PDT) and will take no more than 90 minutes during which DataDear will be unavailable. The add-in will update automatically once you open Excel after the release is completed.

2 Likes